top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMelissa P

Class, Córdoba, Covid

Happy Monday! Last week I started my Spanish Intensive Course, a 10-day class that's worth 3 credits. Needless to say, it's a lot of content. My professor Luis is very high energy and fun which helps to pass the three hours. So far, the class has been a much-needed review before my real courses start on February 7th. Here's a link to Luis' youtube for anyone wanting to review their Spanish!



It's amazing to me how quickly days go by. This week has consisted of laundry day, sunsets along the river, and as always, lots of bread. Monday through Friday I walk the 30 minutes from Triana to Alfalfa before my class starts at noon, and then usually I rush home for lunch at 3 before I go back out to explore some more.


Wednesday night I went out to a bar called Blues; on any night out in Seville you never know how many nationalities you'll run into. From American to Tunisian, the default language in the Alfalfa district is somewhere between English and Spanish. When out in Viapol however, it's a totally different story. This area goes overlooked by most tourists, but if you want a real Spanish university experience, it's the place to be. I met up with some friends that live in the residence hall in the area, and while the night was fun, it was also my downfall...


I spent the next day exploring Córdoba with friends. Although all of southern Spain has Islamic, Christian, and Jewish influence, a tour through Córdoba is a very palatable way to see all of these influences at work. The old town is small, and a 3-hour tour is all it takes to see the work of caliphates and kings come together, particularly in the Mezquita-Catedral de Córdoba. The Jewish people were expelled from Spain in 1492, but that's not to say their influence is lost either. A statue of Moses Maimonides, a pioneering medic of the 12th century native to Córdoba, stands outside the only surviving synagogue of the area. Rubbing his shoe is said to increase one's knowledge.


And then it was Sunday. I was meant to do another day trip to Carmona, but I woke up with a bit of a sore throat and decided to let my program know I would be missing it. I started isolating to be safe, though my symptoms didn't seem covid-like. That being said, I took two at-home tests. Both positive. So, my last week of Spanish intensive courses will be over zoom. My host mom was okay with me isolating in my bedroom instead of going to a designated quarantine area, which I am very grateful for. She's been bringing me all my meals and has been a huge help so far. Though I'll miss my first day of real classes next Monday, I'm out of quarantine the following day. In the end, it's better I have it now before classes have really started! I have a cough but otherwise feel fine. C'est la vie!





19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page